Thursday, July 28, 2011

After over 24 hours on trains... WE ARE IN LONDON!!

As I sit here, I am trying to figure out if I want to get up to go the bathroom and listening to a Matchbox 20 CD mom found in her bag, for we are on the train from Paris to London!!! However, we are not on the 10:00 train we were scheduled for. Now, this is where the story begins... last night at 6:30 when we left the Hotel Luna Baglioni (or as dad would say Bagallini, the name of mom’s beloved traveling luggage) by way of a water taxi that was driven by a very suave Italian man who wore his Aviator sunglasses, even though it was evening and the sun wasn’t shining. Once he dropped us off, we watched the monitor for the train to be posted, once we saw platform 3, we ran to the train to see what it was all about, for we would be spending the next 12 hours on it, or so we thought. Mom was so excited we were going on an overnight train, and dad had read an article about the trip from Paris to Venice being one of the most intimate and enjoyable train rides in Europe. Now, let’s just say, we did not know what to say when we got on board and entered our “three man berth” that was half the size of mom’s closet. Dad guestimated that it was 5x3... Oh yeah and our 6 suitcases in there too. We all tried to keep the adventurous spirit as we figured out how to fold up two of the beds into the wall, so we could sit down. So, we sat there for a little bit and mom and I explored a little and went to the dining car to eat a snack, but mainly for the social aspect, for there were a bunch of other Americans on the train. We have come to the conclusion that only naive Americans would do such a thing, and the Europeans know better than to book a train overnight! After we came back from our social outing (dad stayed in the berth because the door didn’t lock and we did not want to leave the luggage there unattended), we folded the beds down from the ceiling (they were three high.) Mom and I climbed up on the very top because we accidentally saw what was under the mattress on the bottom. Dad was in the middle bunk. We were all just tired and wanted to go to bed. I slept for about an hour before waking up in a pool of my own sweat, and discovered that the train was stopped. The only thing I could thing about was needing to get down from the bunk to go to the bathroom, Oh yes did I mention there wasn’t a ladder or anything, so I got down and tried to unlock the door, but couldn’t and dad had to help me! I think I had a little panic attack cause at one point I had to stick my head out the window to get some fresh air. So, I went to the bathroom, that went straight down to the tracks, and climbed up to resume my position with mom. We started moving again, only to stop again, but this time for three hours. I had no idea what was going on, and it was about 1 in the morning and I was done sleeping. So, I listened to my ipod and I believe I eventually fell back to sleep for about three hours before waking up at 7 to think we were almost to Paris! Oh contrare mon frere! We all woke up and folded up our beds then asked the porter what time we would arrive at Paris. HE SAID WE HAD FOUR MORE HOURS. Then, he came and brought us our passports and told us that we were going to have to switch trains. So, we humped our luggage over to another train in Dijon (I asked mom if we could buy some mustard) and we sat for another hour before we left for Paris. At this point, we were all exhausted and just wanted some rest; however, we could not help but notice the five English speakers sitting next to us. We got to talking to them and learned that none of them knew each other before the train. Two of them were in a berth together and they just met the others. One was an English teacher from Mexico who was on her way to London for a conference (she also had an unfortunate encounter with bed bugs at a hotel previously and that kind of freaked me out). Another was a 21 year old girl from Australia who was on her eighth week backpacking all over.. BY HERSELF! There was a man from Mexico who was just going around to different rock concerts around Europe. And lastly, there was a couple who was just traveling around and made friends with the “loners” as they called themselves. I told mom once we got off the train that the group was like something you would see in a movie! Gotta love it! Oh yes, so at 1:00 we rolled into Gare du Lyon... We were on the train for a total of 15 hours today. So, once we arrived, we stood in line for a taxi for about another hour, then headed over to Gare du nord to figure out when we could catch the next train to London. Once we arrived, we learned the next train left in an hour. Mom and I realized this was just enough time for us to grab a baguette sandwich in the station then run outside to find a boulangerie to buy some macaroons and pain au chocolat before we left. And we did just that before jumping on the train. And that is where we are right now. I am sitting here looking out the window and every time we go under a tunnel, I ask dad if we are in the chunnel yet. The whole idea of going underneath the English channel is pretty cool, but it kinda freaks me out! I just looked up the itinerary for tomorrow and we leave here at 11:00 A.M. We will arrive at O’Hare tomorrow at 1:55 P.M., then jump on a plane to Indy when we arrive at 5:30!

Needless to stay I am ecstatic to see everyone and to get home and into a normal routine again! I cannot believe that after eight weeks I am going home. It sounds weird to say that! I thank God for keeping me safe this whole time and in His hand and for allowing me to experience these new things. It really has been amazing. I have learned so much about myself, and had time to reflect on what I want to do in the future. I thank Him for all of you that have been praying for me, I know I have said it in almost every blog, but it has meant the world! I will probably write I final post when I get home! Thanks again for the support everyone.. It really has been one amazing summer!

Sunday, July 24, 2011

Wow this is amazing!

As I sit here to write this, I am waiting for my father to get out of the bathroom so I can take a shower.. and it is almost 11 in the morning!! My parents have kind of refused to adapt to the time schedule around here which was rather difficult for me at first, for I was used to getting up at 6 every morning and going to bed at 9 every night! However, being with them, we go to bed late and wake up early! I guess it is good because when I go home it will not be as difficult! We are in the great city of Geneva right now, and as I look out the window, I think we have finally shaken the rain.. or at least I hope! It seems to be following us around everywhere! Two days ago, we went to the city of Gruyeres for a tour of one of the Nestle chocolate factory and a fondue lunch at a little shope in the mountains. Mom and I had to laugh because there was one pot made with white wine and one without for the Arab couple that was with us. However, unlike the Melting Pot in the United States, people eat directly off their dipping fork... SO needless to say mom and I dipped all of our bread in very quickly and put it on our plate. Dad did not get the memo, but he is not sick! After that we had one of the best meals I have ever eaten at the hotel restaurant! One of the employees even told me I spoke very well French... hahha Joke!! Yesterday we had the opportunity to visit the Patek Philippe museum here in town! It was very cool, and we even had a tour guide that took us around and showed us the exhibits, it had so much more meaning since we actually understood everything! Oh, and I need to mention that dad was in Heaven! Today we are going to take a little tram up to one of the peaks on the outskirts of the city! Mom thinks we will be doing some hiking, but I have a cold in my chest and I just do not think that is one of the best ideas! Oh, and yes we will be going to the hotel restaurant for dinner again this evening because it was so delicious... oh and we have free cocktail cards that we keep forgetting we have! We are also going to my first English speaking Mass in 7 weeks this evening.. I am very excited! I think everyone is excited for Venice tomorrow! I think dad is mainly because everything here is so expensive! Hahah mom just said that we can take the bathrobe in the hotel home for 400 Swiss Franks!! WHO in the right mind would do that??? Oh and the dollar has like 90 cents on the Frank... Oh the mighty dollar!! (HA) OKay well he is out of the bathroom, so I better jump in there! I cannot convey how excited I am to be with the rents right now! We skyped with the girls at home last night, and seeing the house made me excited to go home! I cannot believe we only have five more days here... This summer has flown by and I am extremely grateful for everything I have experienced and the knowledge I have gained! I thank God everyday for giving me this opportunity and for all of you that have been praying for me! I will update later when we get to Venice!!!

Wednesday, July 20, 2011

With my Parents!!!

Hello from Paris! Right now, mom, dad, and I are getting ready to head to Geneva!! We are all very excited! I cannot believe I am here with them and am so grateful for the time we had here! We take the train for about 3 hours before we end up in Geneva! I will give a bigger update later when I have time! Thank you so much for the prayers everyone! They really do mean the world to me!!!!!! I cannot believe this journey is coming to a close, but I am ready to go home and get back into the normal routine of things!!!

Sunday, July 17, 2011

"Be not afraid.."

As I sit down to write this, my bags are packed, my bathroom and bedroom is clean, and my mother's breakfast lasagna is in the oven for everyone here, oh and yes Mom and Dad are in Paris!!!! All day today I was thinking about what I was going to write, for I leave here for Paris tomorrow after six weeks of being here! For those of you that have been reading this the whole time, you know that it has been a rollercoaster for me! I have had lots of remarkable moments, but lots of challenging ones as well!! However, I honestly cannot believe that I have been here for six weeks and my sojourn here in Saint-Brieuc will be over tomorrow morning at 7 when I get on the bus! It is rather interesting because I feel like I did when I left my house in Indiana six weeks ago. I am excited to go to Paris and see my parents, but at the same time I am very sad to leave Armelle, Laurent, Clemence, Laurane (and kitty). NO, they are not my family, but they have been overwhelmingly gracious to me the last month and a half! I could not have asked for a better family to stay with! I have learned so much from them, and am so grateful for everything they have done for me. Now for a little bit about my week..
Thursday was Bastille day, kind of like the 4th of July here! The girls, Armelle, another mom and her three kids and I went to a little ammusement park in Brest, just two hours away! It was very neat, but tailored for younger children. However, it was very neat and I had a great time watching the little Elise while her mother Daphnie rode some of the rides with the other kids! Friday, the girls and I went into town for a little bit and then I went to school for the rehersal for the spectacular for the parents that evening! My fellow students and I put on a show for the parents out of gratitude for everything they have done for us! I was in the theater play and also another little skit about our six weeks here! Yesterday, we hung around here for a little bit and I tracked mom and dad's plane in the morning and waited for it to land in London! After that, Armelle and I went to Mass, and it was gorgeous! There are so many churches here, and not many people who go to Mass. Therefore, each week Mass is held at a different church in order to use all of them! After that, we went to a little pizzeria with two of Armelle's friends. Laurent was the only male and it made me think of our family at home with dad :) We then went over to their Marie-Claire's house and I fell asleep on the couch! Today, we went to a little town where Laurent works an hour away! You can only get to it by boat, and there are no cars allowed on the island! It was gorgeous, but it rained most of the time! Haha I had on my longs sleve shirt, a sweatshit, my raincoat, and another big raincoat! The wind was crazy, but it was so neat! Tonight I packed my bags and then started to get everything ready for tomorrow!
Now, I know I am not supposed to listen to my music, but I needed something to listen to the other day, so I came across, "Be not Afraid" on my Ipod. And, I cannot get enough of it! The words to the song apply to me so much, and when I get sad or down, I sing it to myslef! Today I was thinking back on my stay here and thinking about what I have learned. When I thought about how I felt when I left, somethings all started to make sense. When I left my house a month and a half ago, I thought I had a pretty good grip on life. Everything made sense to me, and I was going to have the time of my life in France before leaving for college three weeks after I came home. But, then I got here and everything wasn't as peechy as I thought it was going to be. I worried alot (still do) and missed my family (still do). But, I think that has helped me to realize I do not know everything there is to know about life. I have so many questions now, and I am so grateful God has granted me this experience to question things in my life and grow closer to Him. Before I came here, my faith was great; however, I had not really had any experiences where it had been tested. While I have been here, there have been numerous occasions where I have questioned what I believe, but I think those questions are what have made my faith stronger in the end. I will be the first one to admit right now that my faith needs a lot of work. But, I am grateful to all ends that I have come to realize this fact! It is not easy, but each day I strive to grow a little closer to God and revel in the mysteries that he created for us!
This will be my last blog post here from Saint Brieuc! I leave tomorrow morning for Paris, then meet my parents Wednesday evening! I will update later in the week on my parent's computer! I know I said it earlier in the week, but I really have no idea who reads this thing, but I have come to realize it is more of an outlet for me and a place where I can convey my thoughts and feelings in a language I know very well! Thank you to everyone who followed this thing along the way, or for those of you that read just one or two! However, most importanly thanks for the prayers! They mean the world.. they really do! I feel so blessed to know I have a support system who cares for me! You guys are amazing! I hope everyone has a great week, and I will update you once I have access to a computer (with my parents... I feel like a kid on the night before Christmas right now.. I am excited and nervous all at the same time!)
AL

Wednesday, July 13, 2011

And there is not a cloud in the sky today!

God gave each of us here in Saint Brieuc a little gift today! On my walk to school today, the skies were overcast and I was a bit chilly! However, when I left school, there was not a cloud in the sky and I broke a good sweat on the walk home! It is amazing what a blue sky can do for you!
Today was our last day of school! It started off with an exam.. the same one we took almost six weeks ago when we arrived here! It was so much easier this time, and I actually understood every question and could understand the speakers in the listening portion! Before I took it, I was afraid that I had not made that much progress, but I think I have come quite a ways with the French; however, I must say I wish I were further along and could use more of the verb tenses fluently! Oh well.. I will be able to work on them next year in my French class! After the exam, we played a French version of the game "Mafia" and then ate lunch for the last time in the cafeteria at the Igloo (where we go to school). It was a bit bittersweet, because I have spent so much time there in the last few weeks! We then practiced for the little "spectacle" that we are putting on for the families Friday evening! I am a patron in the scene and only appear at the beginning and the end, but I have quite a few lines... needless to say it took a lot of practice to get them all done pat!
I am very blessed to have been able to celebrate Armelle's mother's 81st birthday here on Monday evening! We ate mussles and fries (traditional Breton faire) and sang "Bon Anniversaire" for her before eating a delicious chocolate cake with carmels that oozed out the middle!! Oh it was delicious! Yesterday, we started our preparation for our final excersion to Paris! We talked about safety, the groups we would be in and the things we would see! I can't believe the time has come for us to prepare for it! We will be staying at a hostle, and I have 7 other girls in my room! I am actually very excited for it! And then after school, I went to my last aerobics class (and I am very sore today). We took a picture with the instructor before the workout because we figured after may not be such a good idea!
Tonight, the girls and Laurent and I are going to a soccer match here in town! I am very excited, for it should be interesting! Tomorrow is Bastille Day (like the Fourth of July). I have no idea what we are doing for it, but I know it will include fireworks tommorow evening! And then on Friday, we have the performance thing!
I can't believe I have been here for five and a half weeks! This has been one wild journey I must say! It has been the most difficult thing I have ever done (hahah in my 18 years). However, I would not have chosen it any other way! Yes, I worry a lot, yes I miss my family like crazy, but at the same time, I have learned more about myself in the last couple weeks than I could in a couple of years. But, most importantly I have grown closer to God everyday that I am here! When I asked my mom if she had any suggestions for my struggles, she said that I needed to remember that God is the one whom I should love above all other things.. including them! This is something very easy to do when you see your parents everyday. But, the idea that I need to love God more than I love my parents is very difficult for me, especially since I think about them all the time and CANNNOT wait to see them! I am still working on this concept, and I think I probably will be for a long time! However, I pray that God helps me to realize this and continues to help me grow in his love! Everyday is like a roller coaster for me, I never know how I am going to feel at any given point! However, I always know I have someone to lean on when it gets rough, and someone to praise when I see His love at work! Beginning today, my prayer is for safe travels for my family! Tomorrow, Adri leaves for Florida with the Peter's family for Kurt's wedding, Friday, my parents leave for London and then Paris, Annie and Aaryn will be traveling with Grandma Sandy and Grandpa Jim, and Monday I leave for Paris! It is crazy to think how we will be all over in the next two weeks, and I look forward to Adri's birthday at the end of the month where we will all be together again! Thank you so much for the prayers, I feel God's grace within me, even when it is tough! Know you are in my prayers, and will continue to be! I am grateful for each and every one of you!
Love,
Alix :)

Sunday, July 10, 2011

One week left?? Really?!

Well hello everyone!! As I write this, blogger is not allowing me to write new posts, so I am writing it on my email with the intention of posting it when the website works. Well I must start off by saying the last few days have been rather hard for me! The first two weeks were really hard, and then things got better, but now I feel like I am back at the beginning. I think it is because the end is so close, but I still have a week here in Saint Brieuc, yes one week I can not believe I am saying that! It seems crazy I have been here for five weeks already! I am really starting to miss my family a lot and I think about them all the time! It seems hard to believe mom and dad will be here in five days.. crazy! And on top of that, my mind wanders a lot.. a lot!! It does not help either that every morning I wake up at 6 in the morning.. even if I went to bed just five hours before!! This is specifically difficult because I lay in bed for almost two hours before I get out of bed! I say lots of prayers for everyone and ask God for courage for the day! I also ask Him to give me the grace to enjoy the everyday things and see His love in everything I think and do, for I know this is a once in a lifetime opportunity!
Okay now onto the week! Thrursday I did a little bit of shopping and then returned here and we ate dinner.. pretty uneventful! On Friday, I had a half day of school and a group of us went to the city to eat and then my friend Alice and I went to the "Cineland" to watch a movie! We saw "A Very Bad Trip 2".. a.k.a "The Hangover 2". It was very graphic and I found that I even had to close my eyes at some points!! I think it is probably a good thing I did not understand some of the words!! Then, that night, I came back here and got on the computer to see who my roomate was!! Mom sent me and email, and I know know where I will be living and with whom! I cannot think about it sometimes, because the thought of me going to college is just all a little too much for me at some points!! On Saturday, I woke up early (as always) and put my laundry away and ironed some things- I have become rather good at it! Then yesterday afternoon, we went to a GORGEOUS beach and did some walking around! It is moments like this where I thank God for what he has given me, and it is also moments like this that make me realize that even though I have a lot of hard times, I am grateful enough to enjoy moments like this as well! Then, last night we went to Armelle and Laurent's friend's house. We did not eat dessert until like midnight! Daphnie made traditional Breton faire for us, and it was delicious! Scallops are huge here right now and I love them! I have gotten rather good at using my knife in my right hand and fork in my left! Oh yes, and when I told them that we eat salad and cheese BEFORE the meal, they thought we were crazy!! Gotta love it!! Today, Armelle and I got up and went to Mass at a VERY old Cathedral in the center of town.. it was absoleutely gorgeous! I cried during most of the mass.. I am not sure why, I think it was because it was so beautiful and the fact that I miss my family!! I find that at random times during the day I have a tear in my eye!! After that, we went to the place where the girls ride horses and a group of Armelle's friends were there as well!! I slept in the car for part of it because I was very tired!! Tonight, we are going to another friend's house for dinner.. It seems like that is all we do, but you gottta love it!! Right now I am exhausted mentally and physically! I did not get much sleep last night and I am just mentally fatigued!
Thank you so much everyone for your prayers!! They really do mean the world to me, and I need them right now!! I think another reason this trip is hard is because I am not on a mission trip, not on vacation, not at home, but at the same time, this journey is a little bit of all three of those things! This experience has allowed me to grow closer to God, closer than I have ever been, for he is the only one here with me all the time, and the only one I can talk to all the time!! I know he has a plan for me and I pray everday that I learn what it is.. Oh yes, one last thing.. The thing I enjoy about this blog is I never know who, if anyone is reading this! I know my mom does and a few other people that told me they do.. but it is very difficult for me to reveal my weaknesses, and this experience has revealed to me that I definitely have some!! So, for those of you that read this, thanks for taking the time out of your day to care about me, and once again, thanks for the prayers, and you KNOW you are in mine!!

Wednesday, July 6, 2011

Le Tour de France!!!!!!

Okay well I am in awe!! We watched the Tour de France today, and it was a three hour event for 4 seconds of cyclists passing by! We stood out on the street for an hour before the festivities started!! And then, a caravan came by and they all loved us because we are American and very loud!! Haha but there were so many companies that sponsored vehicles in the parade that threw stuff at us!! Everything from saussage and madellines to glasses cleaners and bottles of water!! It was quite the event!! After the caravan,we waited another 45 minutes for the actual tour!! When it came by, if you blinked, you would have missed it!! However, it was one of the coolest things I have ever seen! I was thinking today how I am grateful to have witnessed two of the greatest spectacles in racing for the first time this year, the 500 and the Tour!! Pretty cool I think!
The professors decided to surprise us and not have classes this morning!! We just watched the movie of Edith Piaf, and it was very good! I love her voice! Speaking of music, I am CRAVING my American music!! It is so hard because I have it all on my phone, and it is so tempting to listen to it! I looked on there today, and I have some classical music that I think will hold me over the next two weeks!! Yes, I know it is crazy I have just two more weeks of the program before mom and dad arrive over here!! And I am here in Saint-Brieuc just 12 more days!! I can not believe it, time has flown by!! Everyday is still a challenge, but I am grateful that I have this opportunity and I thank God for all the people and experiences I have had during the past 5 weeks!! I have learned the power and the necessity of prayer this trip, and I think if I learn nothing else, I will take away from this experience that God is there for you all the time, no mater how you fell, or what you need He is there! And thanks to my mom, I have learned that He has my held tight in his hand! I thank Him everyday for the people praying for me, and I have started praying the Hail Mary in French for you as well!! Alright well I will update again this weekend! It is supposed to rain on Saturday, so I have no idea what we are going to do! Laurent is going to ask the professeurs if I can leave school next week to go on the boat wit them (Laurent and Armelle are both profs at universities here, and are both on vacation for the summer, along with the girls). But, we will see what they say!! Oh yes real quick, I had to watch a French movie for one of my classes, not a film in French, but a French film. They only have three here in the house. All the other ones are American films translated in French!! You gotta laugh, that would drive me crazy about the lips not matching the words!! Oh yes, and I must not forget Dr. House that we watch ever Tuesday here!! I have never watched in the US but everyone watches it here!! Alright I really am going to go now!! Thanks for they prayers everyone!!!!!!

Sunday, July 3, 2011

Have I really been here a month??

Why hello everyone!! As I sit here to write this, I am thinking of the twleve thousand things I need to do this evening... However, this is always at the top of the list! First off, I cannot believe I have been here a month, it seems like just yesterday I left! And, it is crazy I only have two more weeks here!! Today and this weekend was a bit difficult, I am not sure why, but I got really homesick and am missing the family.. I think it may be just a phase, atleast I hope! It is crazy because I never thought I would feel like this when I got here, and I do not think anyone else did either.. I thought that I would love every minute of it and just adapt really well, but I think this is God's way of telling me that 1. I am not in charge, he is and 2. I can not always be the best at everything and have everything really easy! I thank Him everyday for what he has given me and thank Him for all of you that are praying for me!!
Okay, now for the update on the week! Thursday and Friday were rather uneventful and I just went to school and hung around here... Saturday the girls had a golf tournament and Armelle and I just hung around here, did some shopping and went to the outdoor market and bought Chineese foor for lunch- it was actually really good!! Then, last night we drove out into the middle of nowhere for a dinner party! A cousin of Armelle just had a baby and they had a huge dinner party to celebrate! The food was so good!! And, after they put a sheet up on the side of the house and everyone sang Karoke in teh middle of the cornfield! I could not help but smile and thank God for the moment! Then today, we went to the a small town just on the coast and visited with the Mayor and had a picnic afterward-it was so peaceful! After that, we went to the beach and attempted to boogie board, but there were not enough waives to do so!! After that, we went to the barn to ride the horses, and the girls and I rode them without a saddle- I just walked and trotted but the girls cantered and did some tricks as well... it was pretty crazy!! Alrighty well I think that is all for tonight!! I am praying that everyone has a safe and fun Fourth of July and Happy birthday mom and dad!! I love you bunches!!! I will update later in the week- well Wednesday after the Tour de France!!

Wednesday, June 29, 2011

Settling In...

Why hello everyone!! As I sit here, I can not decide if I am too hot or too cold.. I just can't get it right! The weather here is so bizzare I can not even convey to you! Sunday and Monday it was like 80-85 and sunny and today it is like 60 and overcast... wierd I tell you! Well this week has been pretty good so far! Monday night was nothing special, just the regular school and after I came home and took a nap (well I tried to but the girls here were fighting and screaming at each other the whole time)! And, I did some laundry (which still is not dry today). Oh yes, and I must not forget, on the way home on the bus, a boy about my age was standing up and just fainted because of the heat! I felt so bad for him and no one helped him and everyone just stared! I said "ca va" and he replied something I did not understand in French and I felt really bad.. well I did understand "chaud" which is "heat", but I felt bad beacause I did not have any water or anything for him! And then yesterday, after school myself and a couple other girls and two instructors particpated in an aerobics course, and it was much easier this time around! After that I came home and did my homework and ate dinner here. We had chicken and green beans and bread (of course!) and a couple other things... I ate a lot! Just when the girls started to heat up the first crepe that Laurent's mom had made us, the phone rang and Armelle realized she forgot about the dinner arrangements with the young couple who just moved out of the apartment here at the house and into their own home in a small village on the outskirts of town.. And she could not tell them we had already eaten because they had already prepared dinner for us, SO we loaded up in the car and headed to their home and ate dinner a SECOND time! Haha be careful what you wish for because I love the food here, but trying to be polite and eat dinner a second time was VERY difficut...even for me who loves to eat! So needless to say, for breakfast this morning, I really did not eat that much! After school today, myself and a couple other people went to "The Nelson" for milkshakes.. Not just any milkshakes, NUTELLA milkshakes... I love Nutella, but just not in the milkshake form, so I got Strawberry, and they were really good! After that, I headed over to the H&M right around the corner! Here in Europe almost every store has a big "Solides" most of June and July! Some places things are as much as 70 percent off! So, I purchased a couple things at H&M this afternoon, but I have a hard time spending money here because of the exchange rate.. so I just buy things that I could not find in the US.. Anywhoo, the family here was supposed to go play golf this afternoon but they were too tired, so right now the girls are trying to convince their parents they need a new phone (it does not help that I told them Annie has an iPhone)! Alright well I think I have written enough for the day! Thank you so much for your prayers and thoughts they mean the world to me! Some days are harder than others for me, but I think that is just all part of it! Sometimes I just want to scream and speak English because I can not get my point accross in French, but I think that is part of it as well! My French is coming along a lot better, and I am even starting to understand the natives, which is very difficult! Alrighty well I will update you again this weekend, we are going on an excursion Friday and there is a picnic Sunday for the students for the fourth of July at the beach.. Apparently there is even an American Football match.. I am anxious to see it!! Oh and yes, Saturday night we are going to a cousin of Armelle's for dinner, and she is an English teacher, so that should be interesting!! Everyone is in my prayers and thoughts everday!! Time is flying by and I can not believe it!

Sunday, June 26, 2011

Botchy Ball!!

As I sit here to write this, I am nursing a sunburn as well... YES! Say it ain't so! This weekend was gorgeous here! Today the high was 35 degrees celcius, and not a cloud in the sky to be found, I am so greatful! Today was the big day... the tournament du bal! Haha it took me my friend Alice to realize that it is acutally botchy ball in the United States! My family here had a huge party that started at 11 this morning and is still going as I write this! There were five teams with three people each, and the tourney was a round robin! And yes, I actually did quite well, I know what most of you are thinking right now.... Alix??? Sports?? But my team came in second, and my last throw was the won that allowed us to win the match! My friend from the program, Alice joined the party because her parents work on the weekends! Around lunch time, everyone brought their own picnic, and when I say picnic, everyone actually brought like a four course meal in their coolers.... the baguettes as well!!! Oh and yes, I musn't forget the Ricard (wiskey) that went like crazy! I thought Armell was crazy when I saw that she bought wine in a box yesterday... the only thing I could think of was Franzia... Then I looked at the box and realized it was Bordeaux wine!!!! haha gotta love it! And then for dinner, we had mini chipole sausages... which were so good, and a myriad of other things!!! Oh and yes, the lots of deserts we and everyone else made!! As I sit here, I had to undo my belt because I ate too much today.. I think I am going to attempt the 15 minute walk to school in the morning because I can't stand to take the bus and accept hopw much I have eaten this wekend! Okay well I am going to go brush my teeth and maybe do my homework... I have not decided yet.. we will see how that goes!! Thank you so much everyone for the prayers!! Oh and speaking of prayers.. at Mass last night, the priest came up to me and said "une jeunesse" haha because I was the only one under the age of 40 in the congregation... You gotta laugh! Thank you again and you know I am praying for each and every one of you during the night!! Haha the girls here love to read over my shoulder and figure out what I am writing in English... I keep having to tell myself "patience, Alix patience, take a deep breathe" haha but good night and I will update midweek =)

Wednesday, June 22, 2011

TIME FLIES!!

As I sit here to write, I just got home from school and finished a Tirimisu and rode the bus back home!! School is the same ole same ole and I am starting to wonder if there will ever come a day when I am not in class!! Oh well.. last night we went to the Fete de Musique dans la ville!! It was very neat and there were lots of muscians on every corner, and it was just a whole bunch of people having a good time! The day before that, we visited a family friend who is a dentist and has a wonderful garden! We picked rasberries and strawberries and I think I ate more than I saved!! ooops! Tonight, I think we are going to ride bikes if the weather cooperates, which it rarely ever does! It is about 40 or 50 degrees here everyday and the sun comes out a couple times if you are lucky!! Oh yes and it rains almost every day! A couple of my friends and I did an aerobics class yesterday and I am quite sore! I am bound and determined not to gain the freshman 15, let alone early! Speaking of, I have come to realize that everything tastes so much better with either butter or sugar.. or both!! It is an issue!! So, i walk everywhere when I can and try to get excercise! Speaking of, the Tour de France passes through here on the 6 of July and it goes right through on the road where I go to school!! I am so excited because we get to watch it in the afternoon! On Friday night, there is supposed to be a folklore dance that the instructors are organizing for us and our families. Not only do I not want to do the traditional dance of the Bettons, but neither does my family here! They said I do not half to go and if a teacher asks to tell them I was sick... Haha you have to laugh! For those of you that know me well, you know that I am a freak bout grammar and I detest mispelles words and such! As I look at the computer maintenant, every word is underlined because it is in English! In addition, the keyboard here is different and I am trying to get this done in a timely manner! For those reasons, I appologize for the bad grammar and mispellings! Oh and on top of that my mind is also going in Francaise as I speak to my family as I type! Okay, well thank you again everyone for the prayers! I know I say it often, but they mean the world! Everyone is in my prayers here and I thank you for everything!! I will write again this weekend when I have a moment!!

Saturday, June 18, 2011

Okay, I have some time to write!

I just finished my homework and figured I would sit down to write! The last week went by so fast! Monday was Pentecost here, so there was no school and no work, so my family and another family went bowling! Being the spectacular athlete that I am (hahaha) I actually did not do to bad! Then on Wednesday and Thursday, my fellow exchange students and I traveled to Normandy and to the Cemetary of the Americans, Germand, Point de Hoc, the Bayeux Tapisserie, and the memorial at Caen. We stayed at a hostile, which was a first for me and i kept thinking about bed bugs! We went to the market this morning and the fresh food was amazing! I can not belive that after this week I am half way done! I am enjoying myself more and trying to smile and thank God for this opportunity every chance I can! We are going to Mass tonight (and Father Vince was right, there is no one in them!). Tomorrow I believe We are going to ride the girls' horses... They ride English and jump, so we will see how this goes! Everyday gets a little bit better for me and I am so grateful I am able to come on this trip and experience everything. Everyday, I do get a little bit nervous and miss my family, but I just talk to myself and say a prayer, and try to thank God for the grace he has given me!
I know many of you would like to hear about my family, and I keep forgetting to talk about them! I have a mother and a father who are both professers. The dad teaches an hour away at a college and teaches electricty and mechanical engineering. The mother runs a school and teaches two nights a week! Right now, the father was been working like crazy to get the basement ready for the jacuzzi that will be arriving on Monday. I am anxious to see what this jacuzzi looks like and if it is like the hot tubs in the United States. I also have twin girls that are thirteen and in school right now. Their last day is on Monday (from what I understand). We live in the city, which is good because we are not far from really anything! The girls love asking me questions.... a lot! The weather here is like Seattle in the US. It rains almost every day, but there is also a couple minutes of sunshine as well! Oh, and it is VERY cold here, like in the 40s and 50s everyday! They keep saying it is going to get warm, but that just has not happened! They say that when it gets warm, we are going to go to the beach and wakeboard on the boat! We shall see if it gets warm enough to do that! Anywhoo my tan is completely gone :(; but I guess I will work on that when I get home! Oh yes, and I must mention that everytime I get in the car, American music is on the radio! And it always makes me laugh because the bad words are not bleeped out! haha welcome to Europe I guess!
I am very excited to see mom and dad when they come over in about three and a half weeks! Okay, well I think I have written enough for the day! We are going to Mass here soon, so you all know I will be praying for you then, and everyday like I do now! Thank you so much for the prayers for me, I have really experienced God at work this trip! I will write again when I can!
XO ALIX
P.S. I have so much respect for my friend Javi who spent a whole year in the US this past year!! That is quite amazing and if you can do it for a year, I can for four more weeks!

Wednesday, June 15, 2011

WOW

Okay so i figured i would update real quick!! I am doing great and have some days that are better than others!! I am praying for you all!!! I will update more after my trip to Normandy or tonight!

Sunday, June 12, 2011

Wow what a week!!

Okay I finally have some time to sit down and write. For those of you that havent talked to my mom, I have been a little homesick this week, but I relying heavily on prayer to get through each day! The language barrier is very difficult, and I feel like I am an outsider looking in. I am hoping that will change the more I learn the language! I live with a family that has twin girls that are 13 and a mom and a dad. We live 5 minutes from where I go to school, so I ride the bus to and from there everyday. I hve finally gotten adjusted to the time change, we are 6 hours ahead here. School is not bad at all, for we learn about culture and take a lot of breaks. Next week we are going to travel to Normandy and Mount St. Michel. The weather here is very cold, and I miss the heat I left behind!!! Thanks again for all the prayers, I truly believe that is what gets me through the day!! Everyone at home is in my prayers daily!!!

Saturday, June 11, 2011

Cooking Class!

Hello everyone! First off thank you so much for the prayers everyone, they are nuch needed and greatly appreciated! The keyboard here is very different, so I am doing my best to adjust! Today we are going to the girls golf practice, and then a cooking class with Armelles brother. There are no apostrophe marks. sorry! I will update about my whirlwind of a week when we get back!!! love everyone and you are in my prayers too...each and every person!!
XOXOX

Sunday, June 5, 2011

I thought we were going to land on the sailboats!

Well, I am in Boston waiting for my flight to Paris, just sitting here charging my phone! The flight here went very well, and I loved looking out at the harbor on our way in.. In fact I thought we were going to land in it! I keep forgetting about all the little advantages of traveling with the fam, like taking turns going to the bathroom so you don't have to take your bags in! It was quite the trek over to this terminal, so I couldn't help but wonder if my bags made the journey as well! I am hoping to get an ample amount of rest on the plane, for my day will start over again when I land! Thanks for all the prayers, signs, and voicemails! Next time I write I will be in Paris, or maybe St-Brieuc!

-- Posted from my iPhone

Off I Go!

Well today is the big day! My family and I are headed to church in just a few minutes. From there, the WHOLE fam is caravanning to the airport. I fly from Indy to Boston at noon this Sunday afternoon. From Boston, I will hop on an Air France flight at 6 this evening straight to Paris, where I will arrive there at 6 in the morning, Paris time! I am extremely excited to share my experiences on here. However, some of them may be in French. Don't worry! Just go to translate.google.com and copy and paste the text into the box. Make sure you change the language to "French to English". The English translation will pop up right beside the French text. Thank you so much for all the prayers, and I will update as soon as I can :)