Thursday, July 28, 2011

After over 24 hours on trains... WE ARE IN LONDON!!

As I sit here, I am trying to figure out if I want to get up to go the bathroom and listening to a Matchbox 20 CD mom found in her bag, for we are on the train from Paris to London!!! However, we are not on the 10:00 train we were scheduled for. Now, this is where the story begins... last night at 6:30 when we left the Hotel Luna Baglioni (or as dad would say Bagallini, the name of mom’s beloved traveling luggage) by way of a water taxi that was driven by a very suave Italian man who wore his Aviator sunglasses, even though it was evening and the sun wasn’t shining. Once he dropped us off, we watched the monitor for the train to be posted, once we saw platform 3, we ran to the train to see what it was all about, for we would be spending the next 12 hours on it, or so we thought. Mom was so excited we were going on an overnight train, and dad had read an article about the trip from Paris to Venice being one of the most intimate and enjoyable train rides in Europe. Now, let’s just say, we did not know what to say when we got on board and entered our “three man berth” that was half the size of mom’s closet. Dad guestimated that it was 5x3... Oh yeah and our 6 suitcases in there too. We all tried to keep the adventurous spirit as we figured out how to fold up two of the beds into the wall, so we could sit down. So, we sat there for a little bit and mom and I explored a little and went to the dining car to eat a snack, but mainly for the social aspect, for there were a bunch of other Americans on the train. We have come to the conclusion that only naive Americans would do such a thing, and the Europeans know better than to book a train overnight! After we came back from our social outing (dad stayed in the berth because the door didn’t lock and we did not want to leave the luggage there unattended), we folded the beds down from the ceiling (they were three high.) Mom and I climbed up on the very top because we accidentally saw what was under the mattress on the bottom. Dad was in the middle bunk. We were all just tired and wanted to go to bed. I slept for about an hour before waking up in a pool of my own sweat, and discovered that the train was stopped. The only thing I could thing about was needing to get down from the bunk to go to the bathroom, Oh yes did I mention there wasn’t a ladder or anything, so I got down and tried to unlock the door, but couldn’t and dad had to help me! I think I had a little panic attack cause at one point I had to stick my head out the window to get some fresh air. So, I went to the bathroom, that went straight down to the tracks, and climbed up to resume my position with mom. We started moving again, only to stop again, but this time for three hours. I had no idea what was going on, and it was about 1 in the morning and I was done sleeping. So, I listened to my ipod and I believe I eventually fell back to sleep for about three hours before waking up at 7 to think we were almost to Paris! Oh contrare mon frere! We all woke up and folded up our beds then asked the porter what time we would arrive at Paris. HE SAID WE HAD FOUR MORE HOURS. Then, he came and brought us our passports and told us that we were going to have to switch trains. So, we humped our luggage over to another train in Dijon (I asked mom if we could buy some mustard) and we sat for another hour before we left for Paris. At this point, we were all exhausted and just wanted some rest; however, we could not help but notice the five English speakers sitting next to us. We got to talking to them and learned that none of them knew each other before the train. Two of them were in a berth together and they just met the others. One was an English teacher from Mexico who was on her way to London for a conference (she also had an unfortunate encounter with bed bugs at a hotel previously and that kind of freaked me out). Another was a 21 year old girl from Australia who was on her eighth week backpacking all over.. BY HERSELF! There was a man from Mexico who was just going around to different rock concerts around Europe. And lastly, there was a couple who was just traveling around and made friends with the “loners” as they called themselves. I told mom once we got off the train that the group was like something you would see in a movie! Gotta love it! Oh yes, so at 1:00 we rolled into Gare du Lyon... We were on the train for a total of 15 hours today. So, once we arrived, we stood in line for a taxi for about another hour, then headed over to Gare du nord to figure out when we could catch the next train to London. Once we arrived, we learned the next train left in an hour. Mom and I realized this was just enough time for us to grab a baguette sandwich in the station then run outside to find a boulangerie to buy some macaroons and pain au chocolat before we left. And we did just that before jumping on the train. And that is where we are right now. I am sitting here looking out the window and every time we go under a tunnel, I ask dad if we are in the chunnel yet. The whole idea of going underneath the English channel is pretty cool, but it kinda freaks me out! I just looked up the itinerary for tomorrow and we leave here at 11:00 A.M. We will arrive at O’Hare tomorrow at 1:55 P.M., then jump on a plane to Indy when we arrive at 5:30!

Needless to stay I am ecstatic to see everyone and to get home and into a normal routine again! I cannot believe that after eight weeks I am going home. It sounds weird to say that! I thank God for keeping me safe this whole time and in His hand and for allowing me to experience these new things. It really has been amazing. I have learned so much about myself, and had time to reflect on what I want to do in the future. I thank Him for all of you that have been praying for me, I know I have said it in almost every blog, but it has meant the world! I will probably write I final post when I get home! Thanks again for the support everyone.. It really has been one amazing summer!

No comments:

Post a Comment