Sunday, July 24, 2011

Wow this is amazing!

As I sit here to write this, I am waiting for my father to get out of the bathroom so I can take a shower.. and it is almost 11 in the morning!! My parents have kind of refused to adapt to the time schedule around here which was rather difficult for me at first, for I was used to getting up at 6 every morning and going to bed at 9 every night! However, being with them, we go to bed late and wake up early! I guess it is good because when I go home it will not be as difficult! We are in the great city of Geneva right now, and as I look out the window, I think we have finally shaken the rain.. or at least I hope! It seems to be following us around everywhere! Two days ago, we went to the city of Gruyeres for a tour of one of the Nestle chocolate factory and a fondue lunch at a little shope in the mountains. Mom and I had to laugh because there was one pot made with white wine and one without for the Arab couple that was with us. However, unlike the Melting Pot in the United States, people eat directly off their dipping fork... SO needless to say mom and I dipped all of our bread in very quickly and put it on our plate. Dad did not get the memo, but he is not sick! After that we had one of the best meals I have ever eaten at the hotel restaurant! One of the employees even told me I spoke very well French... hahha Joke!! Yesterday we had the opportunity to visit the Patek Philippe museum here in town! It was very cool, and we even had a tour guide that took us around and showed us the exhibits, it had so much more meaning since we actually understood everything! Oh, and I need to mention that dad was in Heaven! Today we are going to take a little tram up to one of the peaks on the outskirts of the city! Mom thinks we will be doing some hiking, but I have a cold in my chest and I just do not think that is one of the best ideas! Oh, and yes we will be going to the hotel restaurant for dinner again this evening because it was so delicious... oh and we have free cocktail cards that we keep forgetting we have! We are also going to my first English speaking Mass in 7 weeks this evening.. I am very excited! I think everyone is excited for Venice tomorrow! I think dad is mainly because everything here is so expensive! Hahah mom just said that we can take the bathrobe in the hotel home for 400 Swiss Franks!! WHO in the right mind would do that??? Oh and the dollar has like 90 cents on the Frank... Oh the mighty dollar!! (HA) OKay well he is out of the bathroom, so I better jump in there! I cannot convey how excited I am to be with the rents right now! We skyped with the girls at home last night, and seeing the house made me excited to go home! I cannot believe we only have five more days here... This summer has flown by and I am extremely grateful for everything I have experienced and the knowledge I have gained! I thank God everyday for giving me this opportunity and for all of you that have been praying for me! I will update later when we get to Venice!!!

No comments:

Post a Comment